mission statement
Fort Ord Lands

The Fort Ord Reuse Authority (FORA) is responsible for the oversight of Monterey Bay area economic recovery from the closure of and reuse planning of the former Fort Ord military base. The former Fort Ord was/is located on the California coastline near the Monterey Peninsula consisting of 45 square miles/28,000 acres.

FORA implements this legislatively mandated mission by overseeing replacement land use; assuring compliance with adopted measures; removing physical barriers to reuse; financing and constructing major components of the required infrastructure and basewide demands; and protecting identified environmental reserves. FORA exercises its planning, financing, and monitoring responsibilities under state law authority to meet these objectives in the best interest of the Northern Monterey Bay Community.

Michael A. Houlemard, Jr.

executive officer's Message


his past year, the Fort Ord Reuse Authority proudly asserts progress on most fronts. Notably, our munitions remediation, building removal, housing starts, jobs growth, veteran support/job/health programs, veterans cemetery expansion, and commercial services have all moved ahead. Our region has also seen new projects emerge in the opening of a new hotel in Marina and Fire Station No. 7 in East Garrison. At the same time, the Habitat Conservation Planning struggles under the weight, breadth and bureaucracy of US and State permitting processes, and the Oak Woodlands planning process on behalf of Seaside and the County has been slower than anticipated.

The FORA Board is moving toward presenting a plan with a viable mechanism(s) to complete FORA’s legislatively mandated mission after 2020. This transition planning process has been underway for more than two years, involving numerous meetings and discussions by three Ad Hoc Committees and with regular updates and reports to the FORA Board. The Board is now engaged in discussion and study of a plan framework which identifies topics, potential action alternatives, and policy decisions the FORA Board will need to make to produce a Transition Plan by December 2018.

In so many ways, the 2017-18 Fiscal Year achievements demonstrate many ongoing and first time successes, again exemplifying FORA's long-standing commitment to our region of "progress through persistence." Barring major national or regional economic downturns – we should see the same positive results in the coming year.


  • Housing starts have continues at projected levels
  • Dunes on Monterey Bay “Fast Casual” 2nd Phase built
  • Marriott Spring Hill Suites opened summer 2017
  • Army agrees to estimated $6.8M ESCA munitions stewardship amendment
  • East Garrison Fire Station opens - May 2018
  • CSUMB completes building removal and new facilities, while enrollment increases
  • VA/DoD Clinic opens August 2017
  • Surplus II building removal 1st phase completed
  • Economic Development progress:
    - Job Survey reported 4% jobs increase
    - UCMBEST property West Campus auction
    - Drone Automation Robotics Technology (DART) initiative
  • CIP adopted, retaining priority for on-base projects
  • S. Boundary & Gigling Rd. projects under way.

Michael A. Houlemard, Jr.


County of Monterey
Supervisor Jane Parker 2nd Vice Chair
Supervisor Dave Potter
Supervisor John Phillips
Supervisor Simon Salinas*
Nick Chiulos*

City of Del Rey Oaks
Mayor Jerry Edelen
Councilmember Kristin Clark*

City of Marina
Mayor Pro-Tem Frank O’Connell Chair
Councilmember Gail Morton
Councilmember David Brown*
Councilmember Nancy Amadeo*

City of Monterey
Vice Mayor Alan Haffa
Councilmember Ed Smith*

City of Seaside
Mayor Ralph Rubio 1st Vice Chair
Mayor Pro-Tem Ian Oglesby
Councilmember Dennis Alexander*
Councilmember Dave Pacheco*

City of Sand City
Mayor David Pendergrass
Vice Mayor Mary Ann Carbone*

City of Salinas
Mayor Joe Gunter
Councilmember Jyl Lutes*

City of Pacific Grove
Councilmember Casey Lucius
Mayor Bill Kampe*

City of Carmel-by-the-Sea
Mayor Pro-Tem Victoria Beach
Councilmember Steve Dallas*

20th Congressional District
Congressman Sam Farr
Alec Arago*
Sonja Arndt*

17th State Senate District
Senator Bill Monning
Nicole Charles*

29th State Assembly District
Assemblymember Mark Stone
Erica Parker*

Transportation Agency of Monterey County
Debbie Hale
Todd Muck*
Hank Myers*

Monterey Peninsula Unified School District
P.K. Diffenbaugh
Dan Albert Jr.*

University of California, Santa Cruz
Scott Brandt
Graham Bice*
Steve Matarazzo*
Donna Blitzer*

California State University Monterey Bay
Dr. Eduardo Ochoa
Kevin Saunders*
Andre Lewis*

United States Army
Colonel Paul Fellinger

Fort Ord Army Base Realignment & Closure Office
Bill Collins
Lyle Shurtleff*

Monterey Peninsula College
Walter Tribley
Vicki Nakamura*

Monterey-Salinas Transit
Hunter Harvath
Michael Gallant*
Lisa Rheinheimer*

Marina Coast Water District
Thomas Moore
Jan Shriner*

Members of FORA Executive Committee - highlighted