# FORT ORD REUSE AUTHORITY BOARD REPORT CONSENT AGENDA Subject: 2017 Chair Committee Appointments Meeting Date: February 10, 2017 Agenda Number: 7f ACTION

### **RECOMMENDATION:**

Confirm Fort Ord Reuse Authority (FORA) Board of Directors Chair Rubio 2017 appointments to the Finance Advisory Committee (Finance Committee) and the Legislative Advisory Committee (Legislative Committee).

# **BACKGROUND/DISCUSSION:**

Each year at the February Board meeting, the FORA Chair appoints subject to confirmation by the FORA Board. FORA's Finance and Legislative Committees for Board confirmation. Appointees serve for a term of one year and must be chosen from among the ex-officio, voting, or alternate Board members.

Chair Rubio recommends the following to serve through February 2018:

### Finance Committee:

Mayor Joe Gunter, City of Salinas (Chair)
Councilmember Gail Morton, City of Marina
Andre Lewis, California State University, Monterey Bay
Councilmember Alan Haffa, City of Monterey
Supervisor John Phillips, County of Monterey
Councilwoman Cynthia Garfield, City of Pacific Grove
Mayor Ralph Rubio, City of Seaside (Alternate)

### Legislative Committee:

Supervisor Phillips, County of Monterey (Chair) Councilmember Frank O'Connell, City of Marina Mayor Ralph Rubio, City of Seaside Mayor Jerry Edelen, City of Del Rey Oaks Mayor David Pendergrass, City of Sand City

Consistent with the 1998 FORA-Marina Coast Water District Water and Waste Water Facilities Agreement, Chair Rubio re-appoints the following:

### Water/Wastewater Oversight Committee (WWOC):

Dennis Allion, City of Del Rey Oaks
Elizabeth Caraker, Steve Wittry, City of Monterey
Rick Riedl, Scott Ottmar, City of Seaside
Melanie Beretti, Nick Nichols, Monterey County
Layne Long, Brian McMinn, City of Marina
Steve Matarazzo, University of California Santa Cruz – MBEST
Mike Lerch, California State University, Monterey Bay

The WWOC Committee Charge is provided as **Attachment A**.

The Chair is also responsible for creating and appointing all ad-hoc advisory committees. These appointments do not require Board confirmation and are not limited, as ad-hoc committees are, by definition, convened for a limited term/purpose and dissolved after the completion of the achievement of the objective.

Chair Rubio appoints the following to serve on these ad-hoc committees:

# <u>Veterans Issues Advisory Committee (VIAC):</u>

Mayor Jerry Edelen, City of Del Rey Oaks (Chair)
Mayor Joe Gunter, City of Salinas
Ian Oglesby, US Army Veteran
Command Sgt. Major Marshall, US Army
Mary Estrada, United Veterans Council
Sid Williams, Monterey County Military & VA Commission
Wes Morrill, Monterey County Office of Military & Veteran Affairs
Edith Johnsen, Veterans Families/Fundraising
Richard Garza, California Central Coast Veterans Cemetery
Jack Stewart, Fort Ord Veterans Cemetery Citizens Advisory Committee
James Bogan, Disabled American Veterans

The VIAC Committee Charge is provided as Attachment B.

# Transition Task Force (TTF):

Andre Lewis, California State University, Monterey (Chair)
Councilmember Alan Haffa, City of Monterey
Councilmember Gail Morton, City of Marina
Mayor Jerry Edelen, City of Del Rey Oaks
Mayor Ralph Rubio, City of Seaside
Supervisor Mary Adams, County of Monterey
Councilmember Cynthia Garfield, City of Pacific Grove
Debbie Hale, Transportation Agency of Monterey County

The TTF Committee Charge is provided as Attachment C.

### FISCAL IMPACT:

Reviewed by the FORA Controller

Staff time for this item is included in the approved annual budget.

### **COORDINATION:**

FORA Chair, Executive Committee

Prepared by Dunique

Domikique L. Johes

Approved by

Michael A. Houlemard